The 5 Boroughs – Got Beef, Cardiff

When a friend comes down from Scotland and you get to spend one evening with them, where do you take them for a bite to eat?

We’d been speaking about my blogs and he decided that he wanted to experience one of the burger joints that I’d reviewed.

I’ll be honest, I was totally up for going to Urban Taphouse. It was a Thursday night and that’s when they get creative with their “limited edition” burgers. The tweets had made up my mind that I wanted to try their Xmas burger on it’s opening night, but it seemed that everyone else had the same idea and all the tables were booked.

I dried my eyes and headed up to Got Beef.

5 Boroughs Burger - Specials

5 Boroughs Burger – Specials

Got Beef may not have been my first choice, but I knew they, and their burgers, wouldn’t let me down.

The Specials Board caught my eye, as it did on my last visit. This time, instead of my venison filled donut burger there was the “5 Boroughs” burger.

2 x 4oz beef patties, “Secret Sauce”, sweet pickles, house ‘slaw, shredded lettuce all stacked carefully in a brioche bun.

5 Boroughs Burger & Sweet Potato Fries

5 Boroughs Burger & Sweet Potato Fries

I know what you’re thinking. Well, if you know me, I know what you’re thinking. For anyone that doesn’t know me, the words that others may actually be shouting at their screen right now are………WHERE’S THE BACON? WHERE’S THE CHEESE? WHAT HAVE YOU DONE WITH THE REAL SCOTT?!?!?!

Yeah, there’s a decent chance that this is the first burger in a long, long, long, long time that hasn’t had at least one of those two ingredients in it. Was I disappointed? Well, not really. To justify that comment, I feel I need to explain the structure of the flavours and textures of this beauty.

The patties. Locally sourced beef burgers. Finely ground beef, still pink in the middle. Moist and full of flavour. The flavour most likely comes from the fat in the meat. Unfortunately, if you’ve not eaten the burger quickly enough, that grease goes hard and it’s not the most pleasant taste or texture you’ll ever experience. Guess I need to eat faster rather than chatting. But back to the ingredients.

What it looks like after you've munched a couple of bites out of it

What it looks like after you’ve munched a couple of bites out of it

The secret sauce….I’ll come back to that. Sweet pickles, thinly sliced, tangy and crunchy. The house ‘slaw was creamy and smooth. I’m guessing it was a full fat mayo in there. Shredded lettuce of the iceberg variety, you know the one, it’s the one that your mum put into your childhood salads in the summer or the one that you find in a Big Mac.

That takes me on nicely to the sauce. Think Big Mac sauce…………..there you go…..that flavour…..that was it, but a bit more intense and probably gherkin-less.

Oh yeah, the bun. Did I mention it was brioche? Yeah, soft and fluffy and tasty. That’ll be why it’s become the bun of choice almost everywhere you go.

As you can see from the photos, my side of choice was a portion of seasoned sweet potato fries. Crunchy on the outside and melty on the inside; just the way they should be.

So to answer the bacon and cheese question….was I disappointed? No. Well, maybe a little. The flavours and textures were fine, but when did you last eat anything where bacon wouldn’t make it even better?

My first beef at the Got Beef restaurant gets 4 out of 5.

About shyboyscott

My name's Scott aka shyboy. I'm a 6ft, bald headed, tattooed, bearded Scotsman that's now a dad. Total softy until I need to be the opposite. Love burgers, beer, my girl and my baby boy....not necessarily in that order.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: The Big Top Is Back In Town | superburgerbros

Leave a Reply

