The Roadhouse Burger (with brisket) – The Smoke House (Cardiff)

Sometimes great pleasure can sneak up on us. Smoke house is one such place, relatively unassuming but home to probably one of best Burgers in Cardiff.

Boredom and recent positive grumblings drew my fellow burger bro and I like a hungry moth to a smokey flame, The Smoke House was it’s name and meat was it’s game. Please note that I feel no shame though my puns are lame.

There is a saying that good things come in small packages and this was once such place, we had to reserve a place because booking is recommended but they did manage to fit us in last minute on a Thursday evening.

So to the Burgers, a nice little selection on the menu and there was one on the specials board, I swear they knew we were coming and wanted to flirt with us… It totally worked or maybe I’m easy…both.

I went for the road house burger which comes with a choice of pulled pork, brisket or chilli topping. I opted for brisket which despite what my burger bro says I had no intention of sharing because well brisket In the UK that’s why.

image

So here’s the beast that arrived, it came with (as it says on the menu) a home made burger, gem lettuce, tomato, red onion, Monterey jack cheese and smoke house sauce contained in a toasted brioche bun. Not forgetting that my burger came with a glistening crown of slow cooked smoked beef brisket. You may now commence jealousy it’s OK it’s natural to feel that way, just look at it… Look.

So how was it? Well I’m going to apologise for my overuse of the word beef in the next few sentences. But what I had was a great hand made lovely textured tasty burger with classic toppings, but then it went up a notch. The brisket was a beautiful thing, but what was even better was how it went with the burger.

Come with me on a journey through prime cuts of steak, because what I ended up with was a beefy burger topped with melty beefy glorious brisket. Smokey but not overpowering, sweet, succulent and working with the burger to give a beefy taste over all, beefy beef beef. Will any meat lover complain about having a great burger with the best roast beef you’ve ever had? If yes then I’m afraid you’re dead inside and i’ll ask you to leave.

image

So the verdict? 5/5 one of the best Burgers in Cardiff hands down, all the best things about meat in one burger waiting for you to eat it. Not only that the staff were great the sides were awesome and I had a really tasty beer. God I miss it already. Oh my god I forget to say that they also had a sauce which they had made for their special burger but which we had as a condiment. Big Mac sauce tasted of big macs! I ate an enormous beefy burger with chips that tasted of big macs!

image

About Notorious BBQ Lloyd

Welsh BBQ obsessive and founder of Notorious BBQ, on a journey to bring people amazing smoked meats! also a big geek, rugby fan and superburgerbro

Leave a Reply

