Create your own burger – The Burger Joint (Bristol)

Greetings!

My first review since before Christmas, but i’m happy to bring you a review of another fine Bristol establishment.

The Burger Joint is an independent burger restaurant offering “luxury burgers” from it’s 2 locations (Whiteladies Road and Bedminster in Bristol).

DSC_0072

This came highly recommended to me by a friend who has been here and enjoyed it many times, so I thought i’d be nice and let her take me for dinner one night (i’m a real catch) to the Whiteladies restaurant.

It’s a cosy, but popular, little place, and booking ahead was essential to avoid disappointment (and to avoid eating outside in November). To order, you’re given a checkbox menu sheet and a pencil, with which you can create your own perfect burger….and there’s ALOT of choice.

20141106_194213

Stare upon this and drool

On the instruction of my friend, we chose to forego the starters due to the size of the burgers (she was not wrong). I chose blue cheese, grilled chillis and onion rings as a topping, chilli and tarragon mayo as dips (served on the side), and sweet potato fries as a side. I can’t remember what she ordered, but I know it wasn’t as nice as mine.

20141106_200542

The burger itself was well cooked, done medium and very tender. As you can see, the choice of onion rings as a topping wasn’t a wise one, so these were moved to the side. Even with this, the burger lost all semblance of structural integrity after bite 2, and I was left in a world of trouble. I struggled on but it looked like I was fighting it instead of eating it. If there was one criticism, i’d have preferred a less crumbly bun. That being said, it was very tasty.

The sweet potato selected to make my sides must have been the size of a basketball, but these were very crispy and very tasty, probably the best i’ve had as any side dish (including eating in America).

To wash it all down, I had a Bristol Beer Factory “Independence” America Pale Ale. I took a stab at the menu and, admittedly, this wasn’t my favourite craft beer i’ve ever had, but that’s purely a personal taste thing.

20141106_194844

All in all, i’d recommend The Burger Joint for those with a big hunger, and a bigger imagination. The whole experience from surroundings to food i’d give 4 out of 5, but I wouldn’t say no to a more robust bun!

Leave a Reply

