The Welsh Black And Blue – The Lansdowne (Cardiff)

IMG_5331When Made In Cardiff TV tweeted about their Burger Off challenge to find the best burger in Cardiff, I have to admit, I thought I knew who would win.

The rounds passed and in amongst the finalists was a challenger that I hadn’t anticipated. That challenger was The Lansdowne Pub in Canton, an establishment that has been refurbished and given a new lease of life from the pub it once was. The Lansdowne first came to my attention when it played host to BBQ royalty, The Hangfire Smokehouse, as their pop-up restaurant home for five months, but I was blissfully unaware that they were a force to be reckoned with in their own right.

Their Welsh Black and Blue Burger won the competition by beating some of my favourite burgers ever. The Lansdowne was now on the SuperBurgerBros radar.IMG_5475

Before we could organise an official visit, I decided to go on a reconnaissance mission, you know, to make sure it wasn’t an elaborate trap to lure unsuspecting burger lovers to their demise. For all I knew, the owner of the pub and the TV station were best mates and this competition had been sabotaged.

I had the burger mentioned above and I was not disappointed. In fact, I was so un-disappointed (or is it appointed? What’s the opposite of disappointed???) that I insisted that we go there together to make sure that it wasn’t a fluke.

Once again, I ordered The Welsh Black and Blue from the helpful and friendly bar staff. Once again a plate arrived with a towering burger nestled atop a bed of chips. Once again I smiled at the scene that beheld my eyes.

The burger patty consists of 6 ounces of prime Welsh Black Beef, a little bit of seasoning and not much else. Handmade, cooked to perfection and quite simply sublime. This is one burger that I could have eaten on its own without any of the ample accompaniments that surrounded it.

IMG_5469But the burger did come with bells and whistles and, as I’d paid for them, I would be eating them too.

A bun. A homemade bun that was made on site and fresh that morning to be precise. It had to be robust enough to cope with the juices expelled by the burger and the Portobello mushroom and soft enough to be an enjoyable eat. All of the boxes were ticked, including the ones that said top with poppy seeds and toast. This bun was the perfect place for this burger and the perfect place for the bun and burger combo was in my fat face!IMG_5476

The package contained your other usual suspects, crisp green lettuce, tomatoes and pickles as well as the two giant (not Urban Taphouse giant) crisp battered onion rings and of course the Blue element of tangy and creamy blue cheese melting beautifully over the meaty goodness.

The chips were proper chips. My mum said she wasn’t impressed with how they looked in the photos, but be assured that these chips were proper proper.

I enjoyed this burger, both times, a lot!

The burger was a worthy winner of the competition. Is it the best in Cardiff though? That’s a tough one; but that’s because the burger scene in Cardiff is absolutely knocking it out the ball park right now.

I give this burger a record equaling 4.9 out of 5.

IMG_5332IMG_5477IMG_5334

About shyboyscott

My name's Scott aka shyboy. I'm a 6ft, bald headed, tattooed, bearded Scotsman that's now a dad. Total softy until I need to be the opposite. Love burgers, beer, my girl and my baby boy....not necessarily in that order.

Leave a Reply

