The Holy Bale – The Grazing Shed (Cardiff) 

If Wales win the Euros then the words Gareth Bale may well be whispered in quiet reverence for years to come. However, for now, his glory spills off the football pitch and into something equally as important…burgers! 

At a time when 51.9% of Great Britain announced their fear towards Europe, The Grazing Shed stands as a bastion of hope, offering us a European menu to celebrate the sporting event that’s still bringing us all together..stronger. 

With Wales doing so well, I felt I needed to lend my support in some small way, so I opted for the Welsh inspired The Holy Bale Burger. Here’s the rundown from Shed HQ; 

 Now I’m not entirely sure how Welsh feta cheese is …or garlic…or chilli jam… but what we’ve got here is a salute to the welshiest of creatures, the woolly Titan of taste, strewn across our valleys and hill; let’s all take a moment and thank the mighty Bale for the humble sheep. 

I’ll be honest, when I first read the menu I saw more of Greece than Wales but then I thought, what is Wales if not a melting pot of the best bits everywhere. Hell, we produce so much locally, what’s Welsh and what’s not is becoming irrelevant; what matters, is taste. It was that hungry thought, compounded by a lack of lunch, that led me to double the lamb in this burger, check out the beast; 


Now usually I rave about the flavour combinations that make The Grazing Shed something special, you’ll see in past blogs how beef isn’t always the star of the show and how that’s actually a good thing. In this burger however, this isn’t the case. 

I swear upon the mighty Bale looking down on me from France or Spain or wherever his holiness resides, this is the best tasting lamb burger I’ve ever had. Fact.

The lamb was seasoned really really well and together with the jam and herbs it brought out the best flavours of the meat without being overpowering; not an easy task.

The cheese was creamy, which broke up the saucey herby salty loveliness of the meat, most of it sat at the centre meaning it kept the burger interesting through to the last bite. 

The ‘slaw and salad added texture but wasn’t messy, there was just the right amount. The only call out was the chilli jam, which kind of got lost in the mix but in fairness may well have been behind the sweeter notes that offset the lamb beautifully. 


You might have realised I’m a bit of a fan of this burger. It’s great to see so much  care taken to produce something that appears in front of you so fast! My top tip is to double up the beast; that meat is worth it. 

4.9 out of 5 – one of the best burgers The Grazing Shed have ever made, just a sliver of a point off for not making it double as standard 😉  

About lloydwilliams53

Superburgerbros blogger, food fan, comic fan, derby fan from the valleys.

One comment

  1. Jamie

    I had the Holy Bale yesterday to soothe my post-referendum blues – it was delicious! Agreed that it’s one of the best lamb burgers I’ve tasted, and the feta was a great addition (even better when some fell off the burgher and melted onto the chips!).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

