The Big Ron & The Reuben, Patty Smith’s (Leeds)

I found myself in Yorkshire with work recently and decided that I would take a bit of a break from my diet. If I was going to have a burger, it would need to be worth it.

I put a call out on Twitter and asked the people of Leeds, and other Super Burger Bros followers on there for some help; the replies came in and the burger joint that I decided upon was Patty Smith’s.

A little bit of background for you. Patty Smith’s debuted at Beacon’s Festival in 2013. It was meant as a bit of fun, but it also turned out to be a hit with the punters. Then, in January 2014, came a kitchen takeover opportunity at Belgrave Music Hall for 2 months and the pop up burger joint just never left and are going really strong. They haven’t forgotten their roots though and still hit the road for festivals. They’ve done Festival Number 6, Parklife, Field Day, Beacons, E’roica Brittania, Live at Leeds and Tour De France among others and they’ve got their second pop-up venue in The Merchant in Liverpool, another two month gig; maybe they’ll still be there in a couple of years.

Belgrave Music Hall is a brilliant venue that is home to a bar with a huge selection of craft beers from near and far, a handmade pizza place called Dough Boys, who sold their wares by the slice and Patty Smith’s and her dirty and delicious burgers.

Now, I get that this isn’t a blog about bars or venues; the burger is always the central character in this play, but this backdrop needs special attention. I loved everything about this bar, and that was before I even set eyes on the burgers on offer. The closest thing I could compare it to in Cardiff would be Urban Tap House. If I lived and worked in Leeds, I’d struggle to not stop here on the way home from work every day.

The evening menu has five burgers; three beef, one chicken and one veggie option, and as tempting as the non-beef options were, it was always going to be a cow-based burger that I’d be ordering.

As I mentioned before, if I was avoiding my diet, it was going to have to be for something epic.

I ordered The Big Ron, which, as you can see, is a double stacked Dirty Burger made from Yorkshire steak mince, cheddar, chipotle mayo, American mustard, baby gem lettuce, tomato, pickles in a steamed brioche bun. I ordered a side of Session fries to go along with that beast of a burger; unbeknownst to me, the side was equally gargantuan and was more a sharer than a side.

Since starting this blog I’ve been back and had a Reuben Burger, a delightful Yorkshire steak mince patty with wonderfully tender pastrami, creamy Emmental, sharp sauerkraut and pickles, a fiery 1000 Island Sauce and French’s American mustard.

Sensational is an adjective that is thrown around too often, but both of these burgers merit such a description. I have to go back to Yorkshire and the plan was to go around a few more places to see what else Leeds and the surrounding area has to offer, but I can’t bring myself to go anywhere else, in case I feel that I’ve cheated myself out of one of these masterful creations!

Patty Smith, you have made two of my four favourite burgers. That’s an impressive feat in itself. You get a mighty 4.9 out of 5 twice.

Just to be clear, nobody gets 5, because if you eat the perfect burger, the world ends.

About shyboyscott

My name's Scott aka shyboy. I'm a 6ft, bald headed, tattooed, bearded Scotsman that's now a dad. Total softy until I need to be the opposite. Love burgers, beer, my girl and my baby boy....not necessarily in that order.

One comment

  1. Pingback: The Pizza Boy – Beefy Boys (Hereford) | superburgerbros

Leave a Reply

