The long awaited non burger review of Hangfire Southern Kitchen. 

“This time I’m going to have the burger…we should review the burger”

“Hey guys what can I get you?”

“Pit boss plate please.”

The above exchange happens every goddamn time, it’s ’cause we’ve been around Hangfire for a very long time, the pop ups, the circus and finally the restaurant. When you know what’s good, it’s just hard to break with tradition especially when that tradition is tasty as F**k!

Anyway, with so many trips I’d like to apologise for not writing this sooner, the truth is Hangfire Southern Kitchen puts me in a very difficult situation time and time again.

How can I write the words to do their food justice?

The truth is I can’t, simply you need to go try it for yourself (book to avoid crushing disappointment). However, in the spirit of trying to thank the ladies of Hangfire for every outstanding meal I’ve had from their establishment, I’m going to try explain a little of the magic that happens there night after night.

First, I should tell you where I’m coming from. I like BBQ, in fact some people may call me a little obsessed. The magic of what happens when you cook low and slow smoked meat makes my heart sing more than food probably should. This makes me very open to good BBQ but also very let down when it’s bad.

On my sliding scale of BBQ, Hangfire is better than good BBQ, every dish is done right, every meat treated with respect, it’s the kind of BBQ we should have more of in the UK ’cause your TGI Friday ribs are shit in comparison.

Here’s a rundown of my last visit with Burgerbro Scott.

Starters 

Us bros love to share, so we mixed and matched our starters to maximise the amount of meat we could fit in one sitting, yeah that’s how we roll.

Lamb ribs came first followed by traditional Kansas BBQ wings.

IMG_5723

IMG_5721

 

yes they taste as good as they look, melt in the mouth, fall off the bone. The ribs were sweet with a background heat and the wings were lightly smoked to perfection mixing in brilliantly with the sticky BBQ sauce

Main course 

The Pit Boss Plate.

Ribs, brisket, pulled pork, Pit beans, Texas toast, pickles, slaw and chips.

img_5734.jpg

I assume named cause it contains a bit of everything that the pit boss would taste (please correct me if I’m wrong?) anyway, it’s an apt name cause this shit is the boss. It’s the meat version of Springsteen, it’s number one hit after hit American splendor, miss it and miss out.

The pulled pork was the perfect mix of succulent and gnarly (my favourite bits) quality and skill shine through letting the pork flavour do the talking which you might hear if/when you stop making sex noises.

img_5748.jpg

I held up the brisket and let it flop, that thing jiggled like boobs at a Christmas party. Just look at that perfect smoke ring, epic flavour with the meat juices shining through, it was amazing on Texas toast which added a whole new herby, sweet dimension.

img_5758.jpg

I attacked my beans with chips to create some form of super carb. It was smokey and epic and added extra moisture to the plate, not that any of the meat was dry though.

The ribs……my god the ribs. Their ribs are some of the best meat I’ve ever put in my mouth. Period.

img_5756.jpg

Sweet, spicy, smokey with depth and tenderness that was so good i nearly wept with joy. If by some cruel twist of fate you have to order just one meat at Hangfire, make it these and you’ll still die happy.

Is it legal to marry ribs? Then again it’s probably illegal to eat your wife, and with these ribs she’d be gone long before ‘I do’. 

Dessert

As we were celebrating the birth of a Burgerbro i.e. me, we decided to chance a dessert. They all sounded good but we fancied the S’mores.

img_5759.jpgIt arrived like a rubbish UFO which incidentally is the same way epic desserts arrive. We unwrapped the foil to reveal cookie gooey lushness. We somehow managed to eat them like burgers cause it just came naturally and it wasn’t as messy as it might seem. They tasted amazing and they were a great way to celebrate the creation of a brand new pair of food babies in both our bellies.

Hangfire does it all, from the perfect super knowledgeable friendly staff to the best meat you’re likely to taste unless you’re a wizard. 5/5 stars and if I could double it I would.

About Notorious BBQ Lloyd

Welsh BBQ obsessive and founder of Notorious BBQ, on a journey to bring people amazing smoked meats! also a big geek, rugby fan and superburgerbro

5 comments

  1. Great review! I’m still dying to get there myself!

    Only feedback is links…add links to their sites & social 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ann Thomson

    Amazing food. We have been half a dozen times and tried a variety of starters and mains, always outstanding. We are off to Lincolnshire and will miss this jewel in the crown of smoking food.

    Like

  3. Carl Morgan

    The burnt ends are absolutely amazing, so many intense flavours on one plate.
    I’ve only been once because I’m having trouble getting another booking due to the overwhelming popularity of the restaurant.
    A truly must do eating experuence.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The House Burger with Brisket, Bacon and Cheese. Barry, South Wales | superburgerbros

Leave a Reply

